Outside

First day back in Auckland since before Christmas. I chose an extra hour in bed and an evening run. Decided to go along Ponsonby Road, my street for the One Street project initiated by Kendall, and see what I could get to add to the pictures I have already.

My attention was somewhat impaired by soreness in the back of my chest from Sunday's tumble. I was more than half way from Great North Road to Three Lamps when I went past this group of young women enjoying an unwind at the end of the working day.

While they may be in the open air because they like being outside; then again they may be here because one (at least) is a smoker, and New Zealand law forbids smoking inside public spaces which includes bars. This bar, The Tin Soldier, is an unknown proposition for me; on morning runs it is closed, and I'm not often a customer of bars.

This week's challenge word (set by LovePopcorn) is air, and I am putting this forward as an entry because of the way this photo can depict open air, fresh air, polluted air, and NZ's clean air legislation.

EDIT: I just wanted to mention that having arrived back in Auckland I have picked up the mail from our Post Office Box, and was delighted to have (at last) the copy of Blue Moon over Thurman Street which I had ordered in early December as a present for S (and me). Will enjoy looking through it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.