Watchful

Quiet morning at the beach house. Overcast and windy, and cooler temperature. Out of the wind it was very pleasant. This afternoon I spent planting, digging, and relocating various bits of wood which I have been saving for when I have the time to work on them.

Then, in the early evening I went down to the water's edge where I saw only a few waterbirds. Was able to take a pretty good photo of a small shag drying its wings.

This photo of a tui on a pohutukawa branch is my choice because they are so hard to get in such clarity to highlights its colouration.

Tui are the largest of the honey eaters, and are found throughout NZ. Primarily a forest bird, tui are becoming increasingly established within suburban gardens. Tui are very important in dispersing the seeds of most podocarp trees and in pollinating flax, mistletoe, puriri and kohekohe. They also feed on insects and spiders. Male tui are belligerent, chasing other birds away from where they want to be.

This one dashed off after another tui which had been in a nearby tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.