Swedish Saffron Buns...


...traditionally served on the morning of December 13, Saint Lucia's Day.
We aren't that traditional and see them as a treat for the whole Christmas period.  These were baked using a recipe from an old milk packet, (which you can see in HarlingDarling's blip from last year!)
I modified the recipe a little, mixing the saffron, milk, and flour together and then leaving them overnight in a cool place. I use this "autolyse" technique in sourdough baking but it worked really well with this recipe, which uses commercial yeast.
Most recipes I found on the web include eggs but this recipe doesn't, except for glazing the buns. Even there I used milk instead because we have someone visiting who is allergic to eggs.
They turned out extremely soft and tasty so I was very happy.  Now they are all in the freezer and will be taken out  as required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.