Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Really, I Have!

I'm not decorating this year so I'm enjoying those in stores and offices.  That way I can leave and not stare at any while I'm home.  Maybe that's the wrong approach this year but after a disastrous Thanksgiving, I think low key is best.

I saw my audiologist today. The bad news (which really isn't awful) is that the right ear has gotten a little worse in the vocal tone range.  The good news is that the left hasn't changed much in the last five years.  I started losing my hearing in my 30's so minor changes aren't so bad.

Here's the really exciting news about it all.  There has been a giant leap forward in hearing aid technology. I have a new pair to try for a week and after two days (this is a back blip) I've already decided that they're for me.  One of the cool things is that they have built in bluetooth.  I can answer my phone by pressing a button on the left ear and automatically hear through the hearing aids. I will hear it ringing and they will pick up my voice so I can talk through them.. Before having these, I couldn't hear the phone unless it was on the table right next to me and could only feel the vibration if it was in my pocket. Now, it can be almost anywhere.

One of the most difficult things for me is hearing clearly on the phone.  This is a Godsend. There are a bunch of other neat features.  I won't have to buy batteries anymore.  They charge overnight.  I can even bring the charger with me because it has a USB cord.  It will also be great when someone is speaking through a microphone, like in church.  That's usually all fuzzy for me. These will pick up the sound right through the aids. Music, videos, even my television...directly into my ears without distortion.
Huge improvement in the quality of my life. 

By the way, I want to introduce you to my friend  WVgirl . As her name implies, she lives in West Virginia but was a good friend of mine when I lived in Maryland.  I met her on new teacher orientation day in 1984.  We've stayed in touch since.  She's giving blip a try.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.