WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Sunlit uplands

Sorry. Crushed by the exit poll. Thousands of people in Britain will wake tomorrow feeling genuinely frightened for their future. Appalled that a majority of British voters apparently don't care.

I suppose British politics shouldn't affect me so much, but I grew up in a political household. Once we were all teenagers, my mother devoted her life to the Labour Party as an activist, branch secretary, city and county councillor, and school governor, active well into her 80s. Our large dining room table was the nerve centre of many an election campaign. I wonder what she'd have thought of the massive mess the party has got itself into (note: she'd definitely have been a fan of Corbyn's programme, if not of his views on Brexit).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.