WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The rain stopped

So at least I got to go for a walk; it was cold out though. Yet another blip of desperation before retreating to the sofa by the fire.

I made a bolognese sauce for lunch. I don't use a specific recipe but I always follow Elizabeth David's rule of putting hardly any tomato in it -- this time just a squirt of puree and half a tomato that I found in the fridge. As well as the mince it featured the secret ingredients of one of the clandestine Cumberland sausages removed from its skin, some dried wild mushrooms, and a cinnamon stick. I thought it was pretty good. One thing I enjoy about pasta dishes is considering the best shape of pasta to use. Bolognese seems to need long pasta, but not spaghetti, my least favourite shape. So I used narrow linguine.

And that's how interesting my day has been ...

In other news I did read an interesting thread on Twitter about food shortages in the 1970s. I remembered the panic buying of sugar, but not the flour shortage that caused bakeries to ration people to one loaf each. Features the contents of Margaret Thatcher's pantry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.