WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Out and about

Proof that we actually left the village today. I think this is the furthest I've walked since I went out with the walking group back in October. This is a rather grandiose ruin halfway up the mountain, now replaced by a very basic shepherd's hut. Which in turn is empty as our shepherdess has met a shepherd, moved to the Hérault, and now spends her summers in the Alps with 2,000 sheep.

It was mild and windless, so quite pleasant for walking, but the light wasn't great for photos.

I made another stollen today, from a recipe supplied by a German person. It's a soda-bread one in that it uses baking powder instead of yeast, and also has quark or yoghurt in it. Unfortunately I realised she hadn't stipulated the amount of  baking powder, so I had to guess. It was a little bit heavy, but it tasted good and was quick and easy to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.