where words fail, music speaks

One of the joys of the Christmas season for me is the music. I've been taking a year off singing in a choir -  it has been a rest for my brain, not having to commit to memory many songs in several languages and I have been free on Thursday nights to rest at home after work and not drive 13 miles to Moniaive and back. But now I see that these were small prices to pay for what I have missed...the friends, the feeling of coming together with others to make the world a better place through song, and of course the singing itself. Just the joy of it. 

The Cairn Chorus entertained us wonderfully as always at their concert at Dunscore Church. Their songs were well complemented by the poetry of local baird Hugh McMillan, reading from his book "The Conversation of Sheep". In the main photo you can see the instrumentalists playing some tunes before the concert, and in the extra, the choir listening to Hugh.

And in answer to all those people who were asking this afternoon, yes, I'll be back :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.