Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

What A Day!

I had a really busy, fun day.  Kendall came down to Green Valley from Tucson where she was visiting family for a few days (hugs passed along as requested). She is a super person.  We met at the deli, had a coffee and drove south to Amado.  There we met Marla, a long-time friend of mine, at the Borderlands Unitarian Universal Church.  She showed us around then helped Kendall find the perfect spot to hang a pair of her bronzed shoes.  

From there we drove to Tubac and had a look around. I wish we had more time to spend there but again, she found a spot behind St. Ann's Catholic Church to hang three more shoes (see extra). 

When we arrived back in Green Valley I gave her the nickel tour of my house and yard. Then back to the deli, where we picked up some food and she was off...

I got home in time to finish the Thank You cards for the people who either sent Mass or perpetual prayer cards, food, flowers, money or helped me in some manner of importance: all printed, with photo affixed to front, addressed and stamped. Ready to pop into the mail!  Yay!

Then it was off to the Tucson Reid Park Zoo Lights, finally explaining the blip.  I brought about a dozen people.  Two didn't show up (glad I made them pre-pay) so I gave those adult entrance tickets to a young couple with two little kids as they stood in line.  Saved them twenty bucks.

It's a small zoo so we ended up going past things three times but usually in different directions.  I'm really a little kid at heart so I had a blast. I even skipped at one point!  I think a few others were less enamored because of the small size.  Still, 1,000,000 lights! Lots of families, music and warm bread (uh, what I call a saltless pretzel). And...a real  elephant and real  hippo each wandered out into their habitats. Zoos can be sad places but it beats extinction. The weather was so nice I was sweating under my hooded sweatshirt.  So much for my tradition of buying everyone a hot chocolate.

Today was what I truly love about the Christmas season.  No fancy this or that. Visiting with a new/old friend(s) and just wandering about doing things that make me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.