Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Tame Bridge Walk

Heron's are lacking a bit of nouse!  Out on a walk today, and heron's were out in force along the canal bank over an 8 miles stretch of the Tame Valley and Walsall Canals.  What gets me is that when I'm walking up to one on the towpath, it inevitably takes off and flies away from me, landing perhaps another 100 metres up the canal.  I then walk on, coming upon the heron again and it repeats the behaviour.  I can't understand why they don't fly past me so they can return to their watchful fishing without me disturbing them every minute or so.  

This happened with three separate herons during my walk, and not one of them doubled back behind where I'd walked from.  I was chuffed to see another blur of blue along this stretch, though I had no chance of capturing anything of the kingfisher, so quickly did it pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.