Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Birmingham Skyline (looking west)

I can be impulsive on occasion.  I've been doing some detective work, having been interested in one of the scenes in the opening credits of our local BBC magazine programme, Midlands Today.  Anyway, after much pouring over maps, I came to the conclusion that the scene was taken from a bridge adjacent to the A45, as it heads out of the city by Small Heath Railway Station.  I'd pretty much confirmed it when I took the train for my walk from Whitlocks End, last week.

So at 6:45 am I headed off into Birmingham, finding a suitable place to park by the bridge.  I got out, took about a dozen photographs and was back home before 8 am.  

I'm thinking there might be the opportunity to take cityscapes from the different points of the compass.  I'm pretty sure there is a view from the Aston Expressway, looking south and with a little more investigation, other views looking to the north and east might be found. The difficulty is often finding unobstructed views as it probably needs to be taken with a telephoto lens to compress the perspective.  If you look at this scene, the self access storage building is a mile nearer the camera than the Rotunda (and the Rotunda is 2 miles away).

After that, I joined L at the stables for crossing duty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.