The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nothing says Christmas like Cheese footballs

For at least fifty years, I've been obsessed with hampers. My grandmother, who lived in the West Highlands, was an agent for Bollins catalogue (now Great Universal) from the 1960s onwards, and when we visited, shed give us her old catalogues to cut up and make gluey collages.

Apart from little boys in vests, I only remember the food hampers from those xatslogues! When one looked closely, there was Spam in them, but I liked to daydream and choose 'my' fantasy hamper, full of tinned peaches, tinned meat, tinned ravioli... Remember, this was a long time ago. Long life milk still came in Tetrapaks, and the fresh stuff in a pail.

Since those days, I have received at least one gift hamper, but the circumstances were bittersweet: I was waiting for a contract to come through, and decided to work in a factory that packed up hampers for John Lewis, Waitrose, etc. On the day we were laid off, we packed our own hampers on the production line, and were given them.when we left at lunchtime!

21 years later, I am not tempted by factory work, but have suddenly received a cheque I thought would never come through. I decided to spend it on a build-your-own Gluten-free hamper (I am.actually wheat free, and prefer to avoid dairy, so the free-from aisle is a good place to find me).
After work, I visited Tesco's and the Co-op, then took the bus home. (The other supermarkets are further out, and I will need a lift or bus pass to get there). I've got a few good things. My favourite so far is the Peroni Gluten-free lager.

I decided to snap it before I ate it all. The theory is that I won't be tempted to eat the wrong foods over the Christmas period if I have some of the right foods. I can take some bits and bobs to parties. Maybe not the bag of flour... It is certainly a great deal cheaper to shop for ones won hamper contents, and satisfying, too. I haven't finished shopping yet.

In other news, I went to work and we took the children to a carol service at the nearby church. The new priest looks somewhat like a manic version of Father Ted. It's a shame, I'm sure he's an ok guy. My colleague thinks it's his eyes. I just feel disturbed when I see him. However, the stained glass windows (modern) were amazing!

I'm on the sofa now, aching. It's a struggle to keep on going when I don't feel totally right in my body.
Everyone I meet seems to have the same wretched cough and cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.