The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Flat out

Bomble looks like I feel! Last day at nursery for me this term. We had 'party day', which seemed to go on for about 300 years, mainly because we didn't go out at all (apart from the nursery garden) as the weather was decidedly against us.

In some ways it was sad. The kitchen normally cooks a Christmas dinner for all the staff AND children, with veggie alternatives and Christmas pud for the adults. This year they just did a cooked meal for the kids/young people and brought us sandwiches. No pudding for us. As we were eating WITH the children at one table, this felt strange. To be fair, I had offered to bring in a gf Christmas pudding and custard for the adults, but had never heard definite confirmation, so I didn't bring it in, to everyone's great disappointment. Oops!

When 'Father Christmas' and his elf arrived with a sack of presents for the children, they stayed on the other side of a glass door and left the presents outside. The children were excited, and loved their presents (which we had chosen for them), but I felt I was watching a scene from the TV, where people greet each other with a plastic screen between them. Another CoVid moment.

We got away on time and I bought a couple of things for supper, posted more letters, and went home to tell my neighbour about doorstep carols, which involved singing on the doorstep, along with a carol sheet and guided by a performance broadcast by the local radio station. At the appointed hour, we went out and attempted to sing beside the dustbins. No one else in the street was out singing, and our singing was low and rusty, more like growling in my case,, the carols on the radio in too high a register, and too slow. Ah well, we tried....I'm grateful to my neighbour for joining me.

And now ..no more children for three whole weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.