Wide Wednesday . . . Christmas Theme

I tried to go to the Christmas Tree festival  in the Nelson Cathedral one other week but there was a funeral taking place.  Today I could see the trees and by chance was in time for an organ concert.   I think the encore item was Vivaldi's Gloria.  It was requested and the organist said he would do it off the cuff but please realise he hadn't rehearsed it.  It sounded magnificent to me.  The organist high above the audience is the main blip even though it isn't the widest the shot I took.   
The trees have been created by community groups.  When you view the trees you can vote for your three favourites which is of course impossible but I put down three.  My first choice was from a kindergarten and their  pyramid shape tree was made from lengths of driftwood.  It was decorated with white shells and feathers.  I liked its simplicity and the fact it was created from found objects.  I could imagine the children bringing in the things they found at the beach.  It also was a New Zealand interpretation of Christmas which is why you have the words of a New Zealand Christmas song:
 
 Not on a snowy night
By star or candlelight
Nor by an angel band
There came to our dear land


Te Harinui
Te Harinui
Te Hari-nu-i
Glad tid-ings of great joy

But on a summer day
Within a quiet bay
The Maori people heard
The great and glorious word

The people gathered round
Upon the grassy ground
And heard the preacher say
I bring to you this day

Now in this blessed land
United heart and hand
We praise the glorious birth
And sing to all the earth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.