Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Small But Tough

Holy moly!  Freezing and super windy. All night, all day.

I spotted  the impeachment demonstrators on the usual corner just before sunset and walked over to join them. Standing outside when it feels like 36°/2° in 25 mph winds might not be problem for some but we're true desert dwellers.

In other news:

I called my best friend from High School+ and talked for two hours tonight. After college we shared an apartment for about 8 years before she got married. I found her contact info on one of those alumni sites.  We lost touch almost 30 years ago when they moved to Florida and I moved to Maryland.

So many memories from so many years... I couldn't believe she remembered the first day we met and that I went to the band room in lieu of Baker's history class...until I got caught. There was also the time her Chem lab partner spilled something onto her lab book.  The next day they were lighting a bunsen burner and the match made the lab book explode and catch on fire. I haven't laughed so hard in years.

We remembered everything the same exact way. Every single story from school, the apartment, piercing my ears with a needle and ice cube after we got loaded on Black Russians (2 parts vodka/1 part Kahlúa)...
[Sooo glad I don't drink anymore.]   

Some day soon I'll tell the story about our apartment Christmas trees. Lordy, it was good to talk to her.  Just really, really wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.