Kipsie

By Kipsie

Less is more in Chudleigh

There are more sets of flashing lights, lit up trees, reindeer, polar bears plus much more in the garden and on the walls & roofs of  private properties, in fact I think the country has gone bonkers. I'm glad I don't live opposite a house with lights flashing all night. Is it one upmanship? There is obviously a lot of money to be made in Xmas lights and all the paraphernalia. The Chinese must be rubbing their hands with glee.  I'm going looking for one of those Chinese Lucky cats tomorrow, if it works for them perhaps it will work for me.  As for supermarkets undercutting one another. Both hubby & I had messages on our mobile phones from Tesco's, re our limits, so we headed in there this morning. Sorted quickly once we had spoken to a member of staff, who was very understanding and patient when it comes to idiots like hubby & I who don't really understand their phones. I was making curry for dinner tonight so I went to grab a pack of fresh mint for the raita, then I spotted the price of a fresh Cornish cauli .... 29pence. Unbelievable! So I picked one up, then thought I needed potatoes. A 2.5kg bag 29pence. I'm a salad potato fan myself but they would be fine for mash/roast so I picked up a bag. When I got home and browsed through the daily paper I saw that Aldi were doing a 19pence offer on a selection of their veggies. All this undercutting/loss leader shenanigans can only end in one way surely.
Curry for hubby, tagine for me, both made and in the oven, I walked up to the town in the wind and rain to click a pic of the Xmas lights, and this is it. Wish I'd noticed the reflection in the charity shop window as I might have tried a different angle, but I'd just stepped in a huge puddle on the pavement, the rain had eased, and I had a half of cider waiting for me on the counter in The Ship Inn, so I did'nt hang around.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday and giving us the Xmas theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.