Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ice Birds

I randomly shot this through the kitchen window, trying to get both sparrow aimed the same way - by sheer happy accident, it worked.  So, two male European House Sparrows on icy branches.  Yes, we are still covered in ice.

The Big Event of the day was seeing the orthopedic surgeon this morning.  Fresh xrays show that the bones are slowly mending in my foot.  In fact, he said I can now sleep without the boot (still need to keep the foot elevated on pillows in bed) and can also try a regular shoe for as long as comfortable around the house.  I'll start out with a few hours wearing a regular shoe and build up from there.  Boot needed anytime out of the house in order to avoid re-injuring the foot.  

Of course, the very first thing I did when we got home was gently cram my foot into an athletic shoe and walk gingerly around the house.  Feels both great and scary.  I can feel my foot swelling, though, so am about to trade out shoe for boot.  

I will see the doc again in a little over two weeks at which point, assuming the bone continues to regrow, he may start me on PT.  Big steps forward (pun intended).  And a word of advice - don't ever attempt flight in the house.  

Happy Friday, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.