Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Party Pooper - #55

As the year is drawing to an end, so is my list of yard birds photographed for this calendar year.  I've been keeping an eye out for the illusive Evening Grosbeak or maybe even a wayward Redpoll, but really wasn't expecting to add anything more to my 2018 list.  There have been large numbers of goldfinches and house finches at the feeders today, as well as all the other usual suspects.  So many, in fact, that I commented to Hubs that we needed an air-traffic controller out in the garden.  

And then...I realized there wasn't a single little bird at the feeders.  And as I scanned the yard, I saw the reason for the lack of tiny snacks birds - a big female Cooper's Hawk perched right on top of one of the cherry trees.  She must have seen me move inside the house because she quickly flew to a higher perch up in the maple trees.  Slowly and carefully, I slipped out the back door and ever-so-slowly moved into position to get a couple of rather pool-quality shots before she lifted off, flew right in front of me (laughing, no doubt) and left the garden. So, here she is, yardbird #55.  I hope she is successful in finding a meal, although I'd be happy if it wasn't in our yard.  But she needs to eat too.

Day four at the gym - cardio, abs and pecs.  I'm not really into a rhythm yet, but I am still feeling quite virtuous.

I just glanced out the window and all the feeders are busy again, complete with a couple of plump squirrels.  It seems that the chipmunks have finally retreated to their burrows for the winter.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.