South Shore Beach

We went to City Hall and paid our taxes this morning. They went up (again) but this time only by $60, so not as bad as we'd feared--it could have been much worse. I'd brought my camera along because the thermometer read 44 degrees (F), so we headed toward South Shore Beach for a walk and some blipping, but the wind off the Lake was brutal, so we didn't stay long. Tom found a (dead) crayfish on the beach so called me over to look at it. It's a Rusty crayfish & is an invasive species. It's native to Ohio and Kentucky lakes, but unfortunately fisherman would bring these to the Great Lakes to use as bait, then dump the extra ones overboard when they were done for the day. The rusty crayfish have all but obliterated those crayfish that were native to Lake Michigan. I've put a picture of it in the extras, along with a couple others I took today, as I still have 20 extras left.  I'm going to a retirement party tonight for a former co-worker of mine, who's ecstatic that she can be done with work! I know the feeling, & it'll be fun to see all the people I used to work with! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!  :)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.