Fire

As expected it’s been a long day with catastrophic fire conditions and I think the hottest Blackheath temperature I’ve experienced at 39C.

We thought we were fairly well prepared but I had to spend a lot of time removing all the dried leaf mulch I had around plants to protect them from the dry conditions. I am very weary tonight.
The fire was troublesome on the outskirts of town so it was again like a war zone with sirens and smoke everywhere but fewer helicopters than we had at the farm.
As far as I know no homes have been lost in Blackheath but several have been in nearby Lithgow and there is a man from there missing.

I’ve made a collage to sum up the day:
View down the Megalong Valley from Wally’s.
A deserted Blackheath.
Across the road from our house.
The fire shed - only activity in town.
The big water bomber going over our house.
From our back yard.
Next door’s garden. After all my efforts with the mulch I wonder if it was worth it?

And it’s not just us. There are similar things happening all over the country. The only positive is the camaraderie coming out. Everyone asking after each other and wanting to help where possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.