Coe river

We took a couple of walks today, interspersed with a trip to the cafe for peppermint tea and a scone. The first, and much more energetic walk, was part of the way up to the Hidden Valley. This involved a bit of scrambling, although we didn't make it as far as the rock step as Mr A's vertigo was kicking in. We might go back in the summer when the walking will be less muddy. But I made it up - and down - quite a steep and rocky bit, which isn't too bad as the operation was only 11 weeks ago yesterday. This offers an interesting reflection on the differences between this time and last time, as on exactly the same day - 11 weeks + 1 day - we did the Harlaw and Threipmuir walk. It was much longer, but I was much less manoeuvrable. I recall meeting someone on the rather narrow path down to Green Cleuch and feeling a bit panicked by the prospect of having to leave the path. In fact, I didn't - he did. That wouldn't be an issue this time. I made huge progress on the walking front straight after that, though, so I was doing the Three Peaks walk by 8 April, less than 2 months later. Let's see what else lies in the future in terms of walking next year.

The second walk was a potter from the old National Trust car park up the river Coe, to see the waterfalls, which is where I scored my blip. Mr A carried on around and I went back and fetched the car and picked him up halfway back to the Clachaig Inn.

Now we are chilling and watching the light go, prior to heading for dinner at Laroch in Ballachulish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.