Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas fun

After breakfast Gavin, Luke, Meriel, Jenni and I went for a walk in the woods with Xena. Adam stayed home to write up his lab reports and Thomas has gone to London to see a friend. Thankfully we have lots of wellies to go around as they were very much needed on the walk today, at times we were wading through water that almost came to the top of our wellies. The extra shows the only dry area on the walk! 

I made a sweet potato and lentil soup for lunch which we enjoyed with pates, hummus and some smoked salmon. The soup seemed to hit the spot and tasted delicious, much better than it sounds!

I have been waiting all day for confirmation from Waitrose to come collect my click and collect order. I then received a text that it could not be delivered today. Then I realised why - the flooding is much worse today, the river I photographed yesterday has flooded the nearby roads and the roads are all close. The other access point to the village from the motorway is also flooded, so I don't think cars could get in and out today. Our area was on the news showing how bad it is, and there are flood warnings in place, it is all quite worrying. After a sunny morning it rained again, so I don't see how the levels will subside anytime soon. I hope I am able to collect my Christmas turkey order on Monday. We have booked to go to a pub in the village for supper and we are not sure that we will be able to get there.

Things always go wrong when life is busy. Last night Xena started vomiting and  would not eat, so I had a very restless night worrying if I need to take her to the vet. However this morning she was back to her normal self and wolfed down her breakfast, so it must have been something funny that she ate from the garden or on a walk. She was absolutely fine on her walk today. 

We also discovered some plumbing emergencies, the one radiator was leaking and not working, but Gavin managed to fix that. There is another leak from a pipe to the boiler but that will have to be fixed by a plumber. It always happens at Christmas or busy times!

A Christmas fun photo! Not easy to do as getting Xena to look at the camera when she was distracted by everyone was nigh impossible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.