Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A night out

Today is the shortest day of the year, and it was very mild and sunny. I cannot believe we have reached the winter solstice so quickly, it seems like just the other day that it was autumn. 

Unfortunately last night I did not go out with my friend for dinner - she popped around for a drink but had to get home as her family, who were flying to Spain yesterday, (which is why we were meeting for supper as she was on her own) had their flights cancelled due to the drone disaster at Gatwick so they returned home instead. 

Tonight we had a Christmas holiday treat that I had organised for the family. Gavin returned from SA this morning and we met him after work for drinks followed by an early supper before going to see Book of Mormon. Meriel joined us for drinks and supper but then had caught the train back home again to be with her family for Christmas. This is a photo taken before supper.

Book of Mormon was excellent - extremely outrageous and funny, and we loved every bit of it but I can imagine some would have found it offensive. The only problem was the woman sitting in front of me who was fiddling on her phone throughout the show, with the bright light being so distracting. I lent over and told her to stop using her phone during the performance, and at interval Gavin gave her a real telling off! 

Back home now and I am uploading this very late so will now be off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.