No More Jumping

Latest reports earlier today were that the danger had passed, so after making a few phone calls I decided to return to Blackheath.
As I was driving into town I realised that things were hotting up again.
There were evacuations in my street and I wasn't allowed to enter.
The fires at the back of Rodriguez Ave went right up to the back doors.
It happened very quickly, and I gather the only reason no houses were lost was that they'd been watering their homes for several days.
And, of course, the firies did a brilliant job.

I dropped in to see Isbi and her husband, and had decided to leave, but thought I'd see if they'd let me into my street.
They did, and everything seemed a lot more settled.
Recent RFS warnings make it clear, however, that the situation is still very volatile, so I'll return to Sydney and wait it out.

I haven't explained that our house was very close to fires that arose in the early hours. The house directly in front of me, which backs onto the bush, is charred, but amazingly, still standing.
At 2.30am the firies entered our place, realising it was vacant, cleaned the gutters (They had been cleaned, but had accumulated leaves and debris in the strong winds.), put out spot fires, dismantled and moved a gas cylinder and hosed down the place.
Bloody amazing!

These photos were taken not far from where we are.
There's no denying the beauty of the devastation..
The regeneration of the bush will also be worth watching.
 
The main one is of a backyard in Rodriguez Ave.
Nobody will be jumping on that trampoline in the near future.

Thank you to everybody who has expressed concern and sent best wishes.
I will get back to you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.