Mizzle and Mystery

The grey and mizzle has returned, everything is soggy underfoot, the mountains gently steaming and a lush stillness everywhere, the otherside of the bay only occasionally glimpsed. I was rather pleased to find, whilst browsing through my Farrow and Ball colour chart (that very statement will have put the fear of God into Himself's heart if he reads this!) that there is actually a colour called Mizzle! I'm not sure I would want the inside of my house to be mizzle coloured as well as everything outside too often the same shade.

Talking of colours, the highlight of my day so far has been Sean's portrait of me. I was showing the smalls how to mix colours for portraits- flesh as opposed to shocking pink, subtle brown as opposed to black, blonde as opposed to canary yellow. All was going very well. Sean got the hang of it a bit too efficiently, he had some spare time so thought he would do my portrait too. He focused. He mixed a whitish colour for my hair, scrutinised a bit more then furiously mixed some brown and added it to the top then pronounced himself satisfied. Yes, the roots do need some attention, yes I'm going to the hairdresser tomorrow. Nothing like infants to put you in your place. Sean did say he'd done it especially for me and I could keep it. I might blip it when it's finished, then again perhaps a little mystery is a good thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.