A huge positive

A positive from today was that my new or rather old....wooden filing cabinet was delivered by the man from down the road. It did not snow so he could get his van up the steep road and between us we carried it in. It is 1940s, French and oak and I wasn't sure if he knew that. It was very very heavy though and we were both shattered trying to get it into the blinkin' house. He said he couldn't feel his hands after carrying it and I reckon that wasn't to do with the cold but to do with taking 80% of the weight despite wearing heavy duty glove things.

My house was built in the 1950s and is essentially a retirement bungalow...it is screaming for Ikea furniture, white walls, clean lines, chrome, pine and Scandinavian minimalism. Fortunately for this item that is really not my bag so instead I have cluttered it with dark wood, busy rugs, old glass and primary colours. This cabinet has taken up the last space....

After I paid for this item I came home and did the obligatory ebay search and sighed in dismay as I found an identical cabinet albeit in a significantly more wrecked condition at half the price with no bids on it and not much time left to the auction!!! Ok it was pick up only from London......... Happy to say that in the last hour of the listing it sold for 50% more than I paid for this one so I am hoping it is a bit of an investment....where's David Dickinson when you need him?? Did I really just type that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.