The Tiny Tiger in the Manger

It is Christmas week, and time to go visiting family. My husband and I went to my mother-in-law's house on Monday and took her out for a very nice Christmas lunch: steak salads for my husband and me, a seafood boat for her. Then we returned to her house, where we talked all afternoon and exchanged gifts.

Tiny Tiger has been having many adventures lately, and he wanted to come along. He loves Christmas decorations and he thought he might get to see some. Well, of course, he was right! My mother-in-law had decorated the living room with a manger scene, a huge Christmas village, fancy lights, and a number of small ceramic trees.

After we had exchanged gifts, I asked if she minded if I took some photos of my little pal, Tiny Tiger, amid her Christmas decorations. "A tiger?" she wanted to know, giving me a strange look. "Why, yes: a tiger," I said. And I introduced them, and I placed the tiger in her hand. She examined him with interest.

And then I took Tiny Tiger and photographed him with the Christmas village, and with the NOEL candles above the fireplace, and finally with the manger scene. First, Tiny Tiger thought he might want to ride one of the camels, and so he did. But the camel was lumpy and he didn't like that very much, so he dismounted.

So into the manger scene he went, where you can see him making great friends with Mary and Joseph, who seem to be gesticulating as though to say: "Wow, man, what a long, strange trip it's been!" And the Infant Jesus himself seems to be reaching out his arms in glee: "Why, a TIGER!? How did you know that was EXACTLY what I wanted for Christmas?"

For it is a traditional religious story that the lion shall lie down with the lamb (although if you check the original verse, I think it says wolves and lambs). But I don't remember that those stories say a whole lot about TIGERS.

But the tiger was docile and friendly, and very protective (as it turns out) of the Baby Jesus, and so they all welcomed him with open arms. Except possibly for the sheep, who were still nervous about all those stripes. And so it was that the manger scene was just a little bit more wild and sweet because of Tiny Tiger's presence.

And my mother-in-law watched as I did all these things, and then she asked, "Can I see that tiger again?" And so I handed him to her, carefully. But I admit I gave her a little side-eye as I did so. What was this: a case of love at first stripe? Tiger envy?

And then - did I imagine it? As I turned around, did I see my mother-in-law stroking the tiger gently, rubbing his tummy stripes, unfurling his whiskers? She finally surrendered the tiger to me - reluctantly, it seemed - and I quickly put him away, lest she covet him further, and try to make him a permanent addition to her manger scene!!!!!

"You should have seen your face," my husband said later, "when she asked for Tiny Tiger back." And then he laughed and laughed. And I admitted that no matter what, SHE COULD NOT HAVE THE TIGER. No, no no. Not even on Christmas. It was fun visiting, for sure! But then the Tiger went home with us. Of course. And we all lived happily ever after.  :-)

The soundtrack song to accompany this image is Pentatonix, with Away in a Manger.

Possibly related:
The Legend of the Crittergators in the Manger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.