Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Too Close!

It was an utter delight to be able to hobble out onto our deck today, enjoying the "balmy" temps in the 40's while the birds fluttered to and fro.  I find that if I keep perfectly still, the birds start ignoring me and get quite close.  Of course, some birds like these little Downy Woodpeckers, aren't shy around people anyway.  More than once I've had one land on my arm when I haven't gotten a feeder hung quickly enough.  Iv'e taken so many close up shots of these birds but not sure I've ever taken this particular shot showing the wing and tail feathers.  I cropped this a bit to remove the distracting bit of head at the top of the frame and then brightened it in LR.  If you'd like to see the same bird's head, take a look at Extra.

Hubs had a meeting with a client today about 3 hours from here, so I have had the house to myself today.  Feels a little odd rattling around here by myself.  Other than several forays onto the deck and patio, I've not done much.  Painfully aware of the danger of falling when I am here alone.  

My foot has taken on a rather dull red color and is swollen so I am going to put the boot back on for the rest of the day and at least part of tomorrow.  Being Christmas Eve, the surgeon's office is closed and I don't think this rises to the level of emergency, so will wait until Thursday and call then if it's still looking this way.  Since I stopped wearing the boot in the house, my foot and ankle have been quite sore, which is to be expected after both were immobilized for 5 weeks.  I'm sure it's nothing to worry about.

And can you believe that tomorrow is Christmas???  And 2019 is very nearly finished??  And I'm very nearly 64 (but will you still love me?)

Okay, that's a wrap.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.