Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Convivial

As per the last few years my Christmas starts quietly, with half a day to myself before more convivial activities got underway.

After breakfast I walked down to the Dam where I found nine mallards swimming, six gulls a-swooping, four moorhen foraging and a goosander solitary.  In the woods I was on the receiving end of a muddy full body hug from an errant labrador before managing to negotiate the stepping stones without an extra bath, although by that stage I needed one. A gathering of gregarious and various thrushes awaited at the rugby club: plenty of redwing, fieldfare and mistle thrush with a glittering of goldfinch for further variety.

I was probably starting to cook lunch as most were eating. A simple swede, parsnip, mushroom, pinenut and lentil bake with a pinch of mixed spice and a mound of sprouts on the side didn't take long to prepare and even less time to eat.

Things got a little livelier with the arrival of the kids in late afternoon. It didn't take them long to work through their second sack of gifts and things seems to go down well. We have started to work our way through the new games on offer and I'm now breaking off to prepare Christmas tea.

There are many ways to make a Christmas, I hope you've enjoyed yours however it was formed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.