A Wish for Peace

Since we'd done our family visiting and major traveling during the prior two days, the actual day of Christmas found my husband and myself at home. My husband had come across an ad in a local newspaper for a free Christmas dinner at a church downtown, and he talked me into going.

And so we did just that. The church was the State College Presbyterian Church, right next to the post office. Parking is free downtown between Christmas and New Year's, so we parked on the street about a block and a half away. Town was absolutely deserted.

We found the event to be well organized, the atmosphere festive, and the food absolutely delicious. A woman was playing carols on a piano in the corner. Within 20 minutes, we'd eaten our main meal of turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, green beans, salad, and cranberry relish.

We headed to a separate room that featured desserts and hot beverages, and we finished things off with apple pie topped with whipped cream, and cups of fancy hot chocolate. By the time we left, we'd been wished a merry Christmas by a dozen or more people!

I took my camera along, as is my custom, and I took a few photos of the venue. So here is a picture of the decorations on the piano in the dessert room. I liked how it spelled out one of my most fervent wishes in such a lovely way.

So here let me add my own heartfelt wish: let there be peace, in our time.

The soundtrack song is Dolly Parton and Ladysmith Black Mombazo, with Peace Train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.