The Christmas Bluebirds

My husband has set up feeding and watering stations for the birds; he puts out chopped peanuts and fresh water several times a day, and with the weather turning colder, boy, did the birds show up! We had birds of all kinds and sizes, and then suddenly, we had a special group of visitors. Four bluebirds came to the water tray and drank and drank and drank!

Now, we never see bluebirds around our house. Blue jays, yes. Bluebirds, no. The four of them flocked to the water and that's where they stayed. Above you may see one of the males. Have you ever seen a bluer blue? In the extras is a photo of three of them together. At least one is a female. I was never able to get a shot of all four. Pretty cool!

Last year, my husband talked me into going to a free Christmas dinner at a downtown church, and the food was really good. He found an ad online; this year, they were doing a meal again, but it would be takeout only, and you had to sign up online for a slot in advance. He picked 2:30.

So that was the only place we went on Christmas: downtown to pick up our meals. (We left a donation, of course.) The food was quite good and you may see a photo in the extras: ham, scalloped potatoes, green beans (that were delicious and tender, I could go on and on about them!), stuffing, cranberry relish, and cookies. Thank you to the Presbyterians for feeding us on Christmas once again!

On this Christmas day that was so different from all the rest, I choose gratitude. I am thankful for my family and for my husband. And for my big sister whose wings beat in Heaven these days; my heart cries out for her especially at Christmas, for we plotted and schemed each year to spend as much time together as possible around the holidays.

I am thankful for Dexter, our tabbycat, whom I adored, and whom I miss every single day. And for loved ones and friends, and food and shelter, and a long and satisfying career, and cars that run, and every other blessing. And for the special bluebird visitors who arrived on Christmas day; perhaps we were entertaining angels unaware!

There can only be one song for a blue Christmas, and it is this one: Elvis Presley, with Blue Christmas.

Memories from past Christmases:
2019 - Twas the Night Before Christmas
2018 - Family Portrait, Christmas 2018 (the last photo of my entire family together)
2017 - This One Goes Out To the Ones I Love
2016 - The Magic Glasses
2015 - Happy Christmas from Lost Creek
2014 - Christmas Jewels
2013 - The Santa Clauses
2012 - The Legend of the Crittergators in the Manger
2011 - Christmas Meal: My Mom's Famous Baked Chicken

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.