Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Unsettling Scene!

I have been bunkered in at Wombat Hollow pretty well all day today.  It's been quite warm and I was weary and decided this was a day when I could justify being a couch potato and watched the test match between NZ and Australia at the MCG.  Late this afternoon I drove out to Hargraves Lookout and this was the view as I drove back up the hill.  This is looking into the Kanimbla/Hartley Valley.  The smoke was as thick as it has ever been and the sky was a very eerie colour.  I decided I would then drive down to the Fire Shed and have a chat to my mates to see what the situation was.  When it's this smokey you really have no idea where the actual fire front is.  They assured me that they had only been doing back burning and putting in containment lines today and there was so much smoke because there was very little to no wind to speak of.  The next two days are going to be a huge test as it's going to be in the mid to high 30's for the next four days.  I have to say it is quite unnerving and I'm not game to leave home and venture very far at all at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.