Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine and snow

As forecast it was a beautiful sunny day today. Thomas and Luke went up the main skiing area mountain, they said the queues to get the gondola up the mountain were absolutely awful today, but once up on the top it was fine and not over crowded. Gavin and my brother went up another mountain where the skiing is easier as my brother has not skied in over 20 years and wanted to ease back into it. I say easier - this whole area is not easy skiing, although there are some lovely wide blue runs they are often tricky to get to and in some cases one has to go via a steep red to access a blue!

I had planned to go for some long walks with Xena, but of course most of the walking routes are inaccessible now due to the deep snow, and the cleared paths are quite icy. It was even tricky walking her down the road as she pulls on the lead and it was slippery in parts. She is loving the snow and goes completely bonkers playing in it. I found a few small areas where I let her off the lead so she could play in the snow but other than that it was lead walking on cleared paths which was very frustrating for her and me. I noticed all the other dogs were on leads so I had to do the same.

We went grocery shopping this afternoon and I saw a British woman weighing some sweet potatoes (one has to weigh your own fruit and veg before you reach the checkout) and she turned around to me saying how expensive it was and although she loves sweet potatoes she does not love them that much that she was prepared to pay SFr7 for one potato. I agree! Prices here are quite ridiculous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.