The Port Hills From the Tannery

My daughter, son and I went to a morning showing of Mrs Lowry and Son at the Tannery. Great movie, but rather excruciating at times. It was my first visit to the Tannery, an up-market shopping centre with a vintage look built in a group of long multi-gabled buildings that had been a tannery. It is very attractive, but being me, my interest was more on the hills beyond.

After the movie we went down into central Christchurch and walked about in places I haven’t been for years. I still find it strange to walk in places that were once so familiar, but have become completely different since the earthquakes. There are still a lot of wrecked buildings and vacant sites.

We met my granddaughter for lunch at the new Riverside Market. It was very busy. We split up to squeeze our way about the stalls to choose our meals. We were fortunate to get seats at a table in the shade, which was most pleasant, especially as our food took a long time to prepare.

The whole scene was bright and colourful, and a lot more crowded than I am used to. Later we went back to my daughter’s home for more family time. It is probably the last time I see my granddaughter before she returns to London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.