TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

They've Got An Awful Lot of Coffee in Brazil!

And now we jump from Brooklyn Heights to Park Slope, where, directly across from my office is a wee little coffee bar called Cafe Regular. There is nothing "regular" about this place...from the coffee to the service. If GS's rotational secret garden in the Heights makes me smile...then this place makes me feel loved, special, comforted and cared for. Taped to their register is a note that says: Use your card! No charge is too small for a wonderful customer like you! And that is just the start...but an important one for this non-cash carrying consumer. Have cash...will spend...have debit card...will really think twice.

So...not only may I make a small purchase here...but I can do it with my card. I can also order a double skim latte -- thanks Starbucks for initiating the how-many-ways-can-we-mix-coffee-and-steamed-milk trend. I can order it to go...and...get this...I can have it to go in a real cup and saucer, bring it across the street to my office, with a spoon, and return it at my leisure. No worries about cash, no worries about having coffee too perfect to drink out of a paper cup in...well...a paper cup. One perfect latte to go, lovingly "inscribed" with a heart by the barista (is barista unisex...or is Pablo a barister...or is a barister a lawyer...No, that would be a barrister.). There is nothing as relaxing and settling as sitting at my desk with this beautiful drinkable and delectable work of art.

I took this photo today while interviewing an agent candidate and actually sitting in the wee Cafe Regular...which is approximately 12' X 12'...maybe smaller...but filled with oversized customer appreciation. I took a photo of their display because by the time I thought of taking one of my latte it was too late and too gone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.