TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

Popping Fresh Good!

While I love all of the accoutrements that make a home feel...well...like home...I seem to always be on the go. I like it that way...work hard...play hard...laugh hard. But what is work? If you love what you do it isn't really work. And I have been most fortunate throughout my work life to have always loved what I was doing at any particular time. Along the sometimes accidental path my resume building has taken me I have always been happy, present and in the moment. As hard as I try to come up with a hated job, no matter how short or long...whether working for someone else or myself, I am hard pressed to do so. During the work week I put everything I have into my job. Luckily for me it is very varied and I have never had two days that followed the same schedule since I started. Remember -- I love the element of surprise, I love interacting with people -- lots of people and spontaneity is just another way to spell my name. But on the weekend...well...my life shifts gears and meanders down another path. If my workweek is like driving on the autobahn in a beamer, then my weekends are a country drive on a crisp fall day...in a convertible...top down.

On the weekends I take off the suit and shift into jeans...I venture into the relaxing solitude of whiling away the hours in my kitchen...or sorting through the mystery of "things" that have somehow found their way to the corners of my basement and under the eaves of my attic. No schedule, no pressure, no place to be and no one waiting for me to be there. Ahh...but then., I always have to kick it up a notch. I'll make bread! I'll make jerk chicken! Lets roast oyster mushrooms and asparagus. Ice cream! Chile Chocolate ice cream would be great! Out comes the ice cream maker with its own compressor...wow! Apple pie...or apple cranberry pie. On the weekends I am happiest assuming the role of Production Manager in my kitchen. In my happy, whimsical kitchen with my vintage Pillsbury Doughboy Savings Bank. Cheering me on...reminding me that this NY girl who runs around the city from office to office and back and forth between Manhattan and Brooklyn txting, emailing, tweeting, blipfoto-ing, updating her facebook page, and staying linkedin can turn it off, dial it down and find peace in the solitude of good old-fashioned domestic arts. Anyone hungry?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.