CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Geese over the Dumbles beside the River Severn

I noticed that the weather today would be good and probably sunny in the morning, so I decided yesterday to go to the Wildlife and Wetland Trust at Slimbridge which is only about ten miles from our home.

When the morning came there was thick fog, so I didn't rush. Helena decided to stay and enjoy the quiet of home. By the time I reached Slimbridge it was after 11am and the car park was full. I realised that it was mostly families so I walked straight away to the furthest point of the nearest to the River Severn as it was high tide and I wanted to see the brand new building replacing the old Holden Tower. 

I think they've built a great new facility, with an open rooftop space overlooking the whole estuary and a much more comfortable lower viewing area beneath.

At first the mists were hanging low but after about an hour the sun began to break through with shafts of horizontal light. It was a great sight, and although nothing spectacular happened, such as close up views of Marsh Harriers or Peregrine Falcons, I did see wonderful flocks of curlews, lapwings, shelduck, pink footed geese, crows, herring gulls, etc.. The Bewick's Swans were quite active on the Dumbles, the area beside the river and flew back towards the various filed and marsh lands.

I found it hard to choose an image as there were many possibles. In the end this flock of geese flying down river seemed the best to blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.