HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Mr. HCB and I were in bed by 11.30 p.m. last night - I was very tired after the last few days of sorting out and had already had a “little nod” in the chair so we decided not to bother staying up until midnight.  However, such is life that as soon as we got into bed, we were wide awake, so as there were lots of fireworks going off just after midnight, we enjoyed them from the comfort of our home and in the warm!

We - being the Royal “We” of "Girls About Town", had decided that it might be a good idea to do a “live” show today, 1st January 2020, so I got over to the Radio Station as usual at about 9.30 a.m. but there was no-one there.  Shortly afterwards, Nichola - in the middle of the photograph - arrived but then had to “hare off” and find the keys to get in.  She was back by 9.45 but then had a little issue with opening the door - however, as she said when we eventually got in, “Top marks for our burglary skills!”

Once the kettle was on, coffee and tea made and then Clare had arrived, we were ready to go and had a great morning - I think we got better as the morning went on.  We missed Jo, who is with her Mum, who is very poorly, but Nichola did a great job of keeping us on track.  We discussed lots of different things and reminisced a lot about “the old days”.  I told them the story about James, my “Angel in Disguise” giving me a lift when my Mum took a turn for the worse a couple of days before she died, which had them both in tears, after which Nichola dedicated the next song to him - "I Get By With a Little Help from my Friends" by Wet, Wet, Wet.

We all agreed that being kind is the way to start the New Year of 2020 - then if we all did random acts of kindness throughout the year, just as James had done, what a different world we would be living in.

All in all, a good morning - Mr. HCB and I wish you all a very Happy New Year - be blessed and hold your family and friends close because you only know you have today!

“You cannot do a kindness too soon,
     for you never know how soon
          it will be too late.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.