FLOWER FRIDAY - THE PROMISE IS THERE!

My sister, Karen, bought me a pot of three hyacinths for my birthday - along with a few other gifts, and it is now sitting in pride of place on my kitchen windowsill.  I put them in a plant pot that belonged to Mum, who always loved hyacinths, so I am waiting to see what colour they are.  The promise is there and I am waiting.  This shot for Flower Friday is SOOC but I have just added a frame.  

I draped them with a new scarf I bought a couple of weeks ago in my favourite colours and also, as it happens, Mum’s favourites too.  There is a story behind this.  I bought a similar scarf back in July and have worn it many times, but about three weeks ago, I lost it - or should I say, misplaced it.  I searched high and low, turning out our hall cupboard, looking in drawers and under cushions, to no avail, so I decided to order another one, because I liked it so much.

You can guess the rest - I had only had the new one about three days, when I found the old one, wrapped up in my PJs on a shelf in my wardrobe - I obviously didn’t look well enough.

So, what are you going to be searching for this year - or what do you hope for?  Good health and an end to all the havoc this awful virus has wreaked will probably be top of most people’s lists.  Perhaps to be kinder, not only to those we meet, but also to those we live with, who often bear the brunt of our frustration, or even writing to old friends or ringing them to have a chat.  Maybe you want to read more books, take better photographs, enjoy nature and learn more about trees, flowers, birds or insects, take up running - or walking for those, like me, who can’t run.

The world is our oyster but for most of us in the UK at the moment, being in Tier 4 where we can’t do very much except go out for some daily exercise, some of these things may be difficult.  But, where’s there’s a will, there’s a way, as the old saying goes, so let’s put 2020 behind us and walk into 2021 with our heads held high and resolve to be better people than we were this time last year, let’s read that book we always wanted to read, learn a new skill, take up a new hobby, move out of our comfort zone and make 2021 our best year yet.  

"One day you will wake up
    and there won't be any more time
         to do the things 
              you've always wanted....
....DO IT NOW."
Paulo Coelho

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.