WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY AND HEALTHY NEW YEAR

When we were out walking yesterday and because there are some very old and lovely gates into Coate Water, I asked Mr HCB if he would kindly stand by one of them because I wanted to do a test photograph ready for today, when we planned to walk down there again.

Sadly however, someone in our family has tested positive for coronavirus, so we have decided that we will not go out at all for a few more days although it is well over a week since we saw them and we have no symptoms as yet, but we believe this is the right thing to do.

Most of you know I am very particular regarding the ethos of blip and don’t want to use a photograph that wasn’t taken on the actual day, so I persuaded Mr HCB to come out into the garden and stand by the gate in the fence that is between us and our neighbours, Lynn and Mike.  Being the co-operative and obliging model that he is, he agreed immediately, so we both wrapped up well and went out into the garden.  When you read my quote below you will understand why I wanted a photograph of a gate.  

Only after looking at the photograph on my computer did I see that there was a rainbow of light on Mr. HCB - which is rather appropriate at this time, given that many of us are now in Tier 4 and our NHS is under extreme pressure, so we all need to be sensible and do everything we can to alleviate that pressure.

As we stand at the gate of a New Year, I pray that it will bring us all good health and happiness and that we will indeed put our hand into the hand of God as we go forward in hope and anticipation of all the surprises and adventures that are before us.

“I said to the man who stood 
     at the Gate of the Year,
‘Give me a light that I may tread safely 
     into the unknown.’
And he replied, ‘Go out into the darkness, 
     and put your hand into the hand of God.
That shall be to you better than light, 
     and safer than a known way.’
So I went forth,
     and finding the hand of God,
          trod gladly into the night.
And He led me towards the hills 
     and the breaking of day in the lone East.”
Minnie Louise Haskins 1875-1957

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.