EVERY HOME SHOULD HAVE ONE!

I guess that most homes have a messy drawer and this is mine - a drawer where everything just gets plonked or shoved in and whilst I am in decluttering mode, perhaps I should address this and have a good sort out.  I need to ask myself if I really do need two tin openers, four potato peelers or countless wooden spoons?

However, I do believe that we all need to have a “messy drawer” whether it’s for kitchen paraphernalia, like this one, stationery - but who needs 50 pens, some of which no longer work or 45 pencils -  or indeed make-up - not that many of us wear much of that these days - what’s the point of getting “dolled up” when all you do is put a mask on to hide it all or smear the lipstick?  Points to ponder.  

I was always very organised in my working life, but often that didn’t spill over into my home life - you would only need to look in the area at the bottom of our stairs to know that.  

So at this time in December, when one year is ending and another new one is about to begin, perhaps we all need to address our particular “messy drawer”.  For instance, we both love books so there are always books lying around.  However, I’m not sure that putting them back onto a shelf would be a good idea because although it would remove them from the floor, the floor would be clear enough to vacuum, so perhaps we will leave them there and just enjoy them as and when. 

I’m sure you all know what I’m getting at - and although I don’t actually make New Year Resolutions, I am going to try and lose a few of those lockdown pounds and tidy up some of the areas in the house that have been sadly neglected for a while.  The trouble is, and many of us have said this in the last few months - when you don’t have visitors, there isn’t really any incentive to clean the house from top to bottom!

I’m sure there will be lots of decluttering going on in homes up and down the country in the next few weeks and months - for which the charity shops will be very grateful.  However, we will do well to remember this:

“An exceptional future can only be built 
     on the transformation 
          of the mess I’ve made, 
               not the elimination of it.”
Craig D. Lounsbrough

Mr. HCB joins me in wishing you all a very happy and healthy New Year - stay safe and stay well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.