THE LAST ABSTRACT THURSDAY OF 2O21

When I looked at the theme for today’s Abstract Thursday, as set by Ingeborg, it was just “up my street”!  Those who follow me regularly will know how much I love my apps, so to post-process one of my shots is wonderful for me.

Today I took a photograph of my beautiful orchid, given to me by a friend - I think for my birthday, but Christmas and birthday presents merge into one for me - so I’m not quite sure.  

Anyway, I used my black velvet trousers, held in place by the kitchen cupboard doors and place the orchid pot on top - click, the shot was taken and then I played, or to use the term I like, fartnarkled with it using the app iColorama.

I’ve got the hang of this now, so that instead of “applying” what I have done to the shot, I just save it and then I can carry on fartnarkling a bit more.  Today was a good day and I only saved 28 shots, but then comes the difficult part - choosing just one for my Blip.  I don’t think that my abstracts are always unrecognisable and I’m sure, even if I hadn’t told you that this was an orchid, that you would have worked it out.

I generally rope Mr. HCB in to help with this task - and today was no exception.  He was in the middle of reading the news on his phone, but I did tell him that as I usually pay him handsomely, and give him lots of praise on my Blips, it would be really good if he could help me, which he did.  However, once I had then put a frame around the several shots he liked, I preferred another one, so here is my favourite - and I hope you like this post-processed orchid.  

I love the curved lines in the shot and especially the one at the bottom on its own.  A metaphor for our lives at the moment, really;  we have been together with family and friends over the festive season and now, because of the rise in the Omicron cases, we will probably go back to  being on our own.  However, as I said a couple of days ago, Spring is coming and we have so much to look forward to so let’s “grit our teeth”, do what we have to do and look forward with hope to a New Year and the Spring that will surely follow.

Thank you to everyone who left a lovely comment, and stars and hearts for my 9 year anniversary on Blip yesterday - I think I managed to thank everyone personally.  You are a great bunch!

In the words of the late, great Archbishop Desmond Tutu:

“Hope is being able to see 
     that there is light,
          despite all of the darkness.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.