Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

Happy New Year!

First day of 2020. 
A very late night but clear headed. A little champagne ( well it was new years eve! ) and a couple of a very nice red.. The meal went well ( thank you Marks and Spencer!) The stilton with a port glaze wasnt a success but the pavlova was! 
Our friend T first footed.. along with Fletch. The ships  all sounded their hooters and there were a few fireworks and the 2 little girls across the road had been allowed to stay up and were outside with sparklers. Otherwise quite quiet outside. 
We gave up on Jools and ended up putting on the Kylie concert. Perfect atmosphere for New Years eve.. as we joined in the singing ( and Fletch with his woo wooing! ) I had a bit of a bop round the living room ( well it is New Years Eve) Our friends left at 1:30 but it was gone 3 before we went to bed ... and I could have stayed up longer! In my college days I often did.

Needless to say I did not get up early! 

It wasnt too cold so we managed a reasonable walk up to the sea wall and along by the marsh.  Weather wise a grey rather drab day.. 

What to blip on the first day of the year?? 
My buddha.. a symbol of  a peaceful mind and a peaceful world.. which we all hope for

The primula.. still going on after all these months.. when I planted them way back in April I assumed they would only flower for a month or two.. but despite the rain, the caterpillars etc.. they have kept on flowering. 
A symbol of resilience and optimism? 
Perhaps I should use that as inspiration for 2020. 

Who knows what this year will bring? I remain optimistic that it will be good ( and pray for resilience if it isnt)

Hope everyone has a good year. 
Thank you for all the positive comments. It's great being part of the Blip community . :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.