Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

I am longing to be with you, and by the sea ...

Some of you may be enjoying the new and gory version of Dracula currently being broadcast by the BBC. 

"The castle is on the very edge of a terrible precipice. A stone falling from the window would fall a thousand feet without touching anything!
But I am not in heart to describe beauty, for when I had seen the view I explored further; doors, doors, doors everywhere, and all locked and bolted. In no place save from the windows in the castle walls is there an available exit. The castle is a veritable prison, and I am a prisoner!" 
From Dracula. Bram Stoker. 1897.

It is said that Bram Stoker was inspired to write his novel Dracula after visiting Slains Castle whilst holidaying at the Kilmarnock Arms Hotel in nearby Cruden Bay, just to the north of where we live. Best check that the crucifix is in place and that we have adequate supplies of garlic and stakes.

Thank you for the lovely comments on my 9th anniversary yesterday which I very much appreciate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.