The House that Anthony Built

Dear Diary,

Another example of the wonders of the technology and social media.  My cousin was able to find the house that my father's father, Anthony, built in Hollis, NH over 100 years ago on Google Maps.  He put a link to it on Face Book and I was able to see it.  It took me a while to figure out how to download it as a jpeg and then enhance it a bit and remove the horrible power lines.  I also added Anthony and Tillie's wedding picture from 1904. It is the only photograph I have of him.  Anthony immigrated from Lithuania in 1899. This is the house my Dad was born in in 1918.  The old barn Anthony built burned down in the late 1920's.  I was happy to see it was still in relatively good shape.  Yes, at its best, social media and the internet are wonderful tools and a great aid to genealogical research.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.