We're Planting Butterflies!

A friend of mine is starting a winter planting project that involves milkweed seeds, and so I promised her I'd look for some in my travels. I found and collected a few pods that contain many seeds, and I'll give my friend some of them when I see her next.

But first, T. Tiger and the Crittergators wanted to inspect the seeds. They heard that we were planting butterflies, and they didn't really understand how that works. I explained it to them thus:

The seeds we plant every day have consequences. We reap what we sow. And so if we plant hatred, and water it daily, taller, thicker, stronger hatred is our sad harvest. And if we plant love, well, we will grow that too.

So what are we growing in THIS house? In life, we choose to plant the seeds of love, not hate; for love - increased, unmatched, and fulfilled - is a much better and more beautiful harvest. In the garden, we choose to plant seeds that will nourish what we love, which is to say: butterflies!

The soundtrack song can only be this one: Dolly Parton, with Love Is Like a Butterfly. And I've come back and added another fitting tune: Tears for Fears, Sowing the Seeds of Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.