TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Infamy, infamy, the Reds have got it infamy...

Or so must every single Evertonian be thinking at this moment in time. 

I spent the morning worrying about who would be playing in the FA Cup for Liverpool. Then I found out. And I spent the next hour worrying about how badly we were going to lose.

As it happens, Jürgen Klopp fielded a team of U-9s and managed to beat Everton's first team 1-0. The temptation/urge to call the blue side of my family is pretty hard to control at the moment... 

When a football match is the dominant event of the day, you know it is an easy day. As it happens, it isn't. Australia, Trump, Iran, Johnson, Brexit, Albertan separatists... the world is filled with nihilists. I always took the lyrics of the Crowded House song "Hey Now" as being a bit far-fetched: "In the paper today/ Tales of war and of waste/ But you turn right over to the TV page." Yet, that is essentially what I am doing at the moment. So many battles seem lost and I have so little energy to pick myself up and fight them again. This is partly due to me still being sick, but, nonetheless...

Thank God for Curtis Jones and his right foot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.