The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On the outside, looking out

This is Wednesday's blip. After I'd finished doing my self-assessment tax return at 11 pm, my sister rang from overseas, and afterwards I decided to go to bed instead of blipping. Surprisingly, the sky did not fall down, though little flakes of it have broken off and are now floating gently to earth...

This is a piece of 'door furniture' on a Lower Street door, a sort of mirrored tile. The reflection showed the cottages and bare winter trees on the other side of the street. One of the cottage dwellers kindly picked me up from hospital a few years ago when I was discharged following treatment for pneumonia, and did not have assistance. She lit a roaring fire when we got to her cottage, and eventually friends came and picked me up.
She still buys my rose face cream! Thank you, S.

The rest of the day was dominated by the tax return, and of course work in the morning. It's a mystery why I put off doing my tax return for so long. It only takes a few hours. I guess it's the thought of the ghastly little scraps of paper and old diary entries that have to be accounted for ... this year, it seems, the IR (I mean HMRC) owes me £47!

There were some other interesting door knockers and plates in Lower Street, which is one of the roads running from Stroud hospital at the top, to Nelson street and town at the bottom. The houses and cottages here are privately owned and some are of considerable antiquity, being formerly weavers' cottages, where woollen cloth weavers worked at home on looms in the roofspace. Nowadays it is a little enclave and houses the Steiner kindergarten (the first one, the Lindens). I blipped a horse in Lower Street in December.

I'd wanted to make a collage of the other door bits and bobs, but couldn't get a layout or format that I liked. I like this diamond patterned glass because it reminds me of a glass diamond window-hanging ornament with pressed flowers in it that I bought for my mother on my first trip to Canada in 1988. The following year, she brought me one back. I have no idea where it is...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.