The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Keep the home feet burning

How much would you pay for this stone 'foot warmer'?
£10? £19? £29?
Wrong again!


Asking price is £39, in another of Stroud's vintage shops, this one in the High Street. A male mannequin clad in a kilt (Mc Gregor tartan?) jacket, and binoculars, gazes out over the passing shoppers. Around his knees are ranged a selection of hip flasks and, for those who prefer a longer dram, a stone hot water bottle. Perhaps the shop is gearing up for Burns night. Our local pub is advertising a Burns night supper on 25th January, but still hasn't got a bagpiper. I first blipped this shop window here.

Tonight the snow is softly falling, and a major panic has taken hold of the county. Such is the scale of the anxiety that our local Waitrose has sold out of tonic water! Jeepers, what is a person to do, trapped at home without a mere drop of tonic? Who knows what will happen next: the pupils who board at our special school are being taken home tonight, if possible, before the snow settles. So far it is just icing sugar, but the forecast is for several inches. CleanSteve has parked our car on the main road, because it is impossible to get off our estate once the ice and snow is packed.

Tomorrow I shall don my protective clothing and shoe-spikes, and walk to my first job, and take the bus to the second one, insh'allah. I am optimistic that the snow won't be anywhere as heavy as predicted, but I have been wrong before. Being snowed in is great fun, apart from the fact that if I don't get to work, I don't get paid!

PS There are more reflections in this shot. Normal service will resume soon.
PPS I back-blipped yesterday, if you care to take a look...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.