Bangkok 1

And so to more travels and another new country. Remembering that you could check in at KLIA CAT when travelling Malaysian I got a lift to Sentral and then on the Ekspres. Had a non descript 'breakfast' at Old Town White Coffee and then we got lunch on the plane. Always a surprise.

I've gained an hour coming to Thailand but it means it's dark just after 6. Took ages to get out of the airport. Seemed to time getting to immigration wrong and then started to queue for a taxi before I remembered I could Grab here.

The Sheraton Royal Orchid is right beside the river so a view of the Iconsiam Mall opposite, free shuttles across the river.

Had a walk to Chinatown which appeared to be closed. Always interesting comparing cities. The roads round here are remarkably quiet both in terms of noise and traffic volume but I am comparing with Laos and Vietnam. The quay area next to the hotel is River City Bangkok, no relation to the Scottish soap.

Backsliding in my 'no beer' promise, comparing Singha and Beer Lao and watching the sunset. Think the latter remains my favourite. So far Thailand doesn't appear to be cheap and the river is full of dance and dinner boats, Saigon this is not. A baht is worth about 2.5p so not silly numbers like Vietnam but I still have to divide by 40.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.